December 04, 2020 23:18 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
BJP makes big gains in GHMC election, ruling TRS emerges largest party | GHMC vote counting: TRS takes comfortable lead, BJP lags behind AIMIM | Mamata Banerjee speaks with protesting farmers lending support to farmers' protest | Coronavirus vaccine to be ready in next few weeks: PM Modi | India reports over 36,000 Covid-19 cases in 24 hours, 540 deaths
CPI-M, AIMIM to support TDP's no-confidence motion against BJP government

CPI-M, AIMIM to support TDP's no-confidence motion against BJP government

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 16 Mar 2018, 11:20 am

Kolkata, Mar 16 (IBNS): The CPI-M has stated that it will extend its support to the Telegu Desam Party (TDP)'s no-confidence motion brought against the BJP-led union government in the parliament.

CPI-M General Secretary Sitaram Yechury tweeted, "CPI(M) supports the no-confidence motion being brought against the BJP government. Its betrayal of the promise of special status for Andhra Pradesh is inexcuseable. Its all-round failure and evasion of parliamentary accountability needs to be highlighted."

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said in a tweet, "I welcome the TDP's decision to leave the NDA. The current situation warrants such action to save the country from disaster."

"I appeal to all political parties in the Opposition to work closely together against atrocities, economic calamity and political instability" the TMC chief added in a follow-up tweet.

AIMIM leader Asaduddin Owaisi tweeted, "MIM party will support the No Confidence motion in Lok Sabha today not only for failure on part of Modi Govt to implement the State Reorganisation Act but failure to fulfill their promise to provide employment to youth and for injustice to Muslim Women and Minorities."

The Congress is likely to extend its support to the no-confidence motion in the parliament.

TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu on Friday announced the exit of his party from the NDA over the demands of a special status for Andhra Pradesh.

The TDP leaders have also stated the relation with the BJP, which heads NDA, has ended.

The TDP has also stated the by-poll defeats of the BJP in Uttar Pradesh clearly state that people do not have confidence in the BJP.

The TDP has currently 16 MPs in the Lok Sabha.

Earlier, two TDP ministers, Ashok Gajapathi Raju and Y.S. Chowdary had resigned over the same issue following the order of party chief Naidu.