September 19, 2020 18:30 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
IPL 2020 begins today with CSK-MI clash | Karnataka drug scandal: Santosh, Akul, Yuvraj appear before CCB | Kashmir: Suspected militants snatch rifle from bank guard in Pulwama | Kashmir: Three armed Lashkar terrorists arrested in Rajouri | NIA officials arrest 9 Al-Qaeda operatives from West Bengal, Kerala
Sarbananda Sonowal wishes new Tripura CM

Sarbananda Sonowal wishes new Tripura CM

India Blooms News Service | | 09 Mar 2018, 08:31 pm

Guwahati, Mar 9 (IBNS) : Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal on Friday congratulated Biplab Kumar Deb, who was sworn in as the 10th Chief Minister of Tripura, and wished him all success to run the government.          

Sonowal was present at the swearing in ceremony held at Agartala’s Assam Rifles ground.

“I congratulate Biplab Kumar Deb and his Council of Ministers on assuming the baton of new government  to run the first ever BJP-led government in Tripura. I hope the new government would work to fulfil the aims and aspirations of all sections of the people of Tripura,” Sonowal said.

He also said  that Assam government and the new government in Tripura would work  to strengthen the age-old bonhomie between the two states and friendship and camaraderie among the people of both the states.
Biplab Kumar Deb has sworn-in as  Tripura Chief Minister to head the new BJP government in the state.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was present at the oath-taking ceremony on Friday.

Deb became the first BJP CM in the state.

A former gym instructor, BJP state president Biplab Dev was born in  Akraban, Udaipur in Gomoti District of Tripura. He was a volunteer with the RSS earlier. 

Deb succeeded Manik Sarkar as the CM of the state.

The BJP has uprooted the 25-year long Left rule in Tripura.

The BJP-IPFT alliance swept the poll with 43 seats as opposed to Left's 16 with one seat yet to be polled.

(Reporting by Hemanta Kumar Nath)