February 07, 2023 12:54 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
S Jaishankar discusses bilateral ties, trade pact with Canadian counterpart Melanie Joly | Mallikarjun Kharge, Rahul Gandhi express grief over deaths due to earthquake in Turkey, Syria | At least 2,300 killed as 3 powerful earthquakes hit Turkey, Syria | PM Narendra Modi to inaugurate India Energy Week 2023 tomorrow | Assam: G20 delegates visits Kaziranga National Park
Tripura poll: 74% turnout till 4pm, says EC

Tripura poll: 74% turnout till 4pm, says EC

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 18 Feb 2018, 07:08 pm

Agartala, Feb 18 (IBNS): The Election Commission of India has said around 74% of the total voters have turned out to cast their mandate in the Tripura Assembly poll, which was held on Sunday, media reports said.

The voters turnout has been recorded till 4 p.m. by the EC.

The turnout of the voter is incidentally much lower than the previous poll that had recorded 93.6%.

Voting in 59 out of 60 Assembly seats of Tripura took place on Sunday.

The polling in the reserved Charilam seat of the state has been rescheduled to March 12 due to the death of CPI-M candidate Ramendra Narayan Debbarma, media report said.

Manik Sarkar, the poorest Chief Minister of the country, is leading the CPI-M-led Left Front government in the state for 25 years.

Manik Sarkar is the longest serving Chief Minister of any state followed by late Jyoti Basu, who was at the helm in West Bengal.

Tripura, a CPI-M bastion, is one of the two states where the Left still rules.

The BJP, which has stormed the north and northeast India in last few years, is trying to keep its footprint in the eastern state of India.

CPI-M and CPI together are having 51 out of total 60 Assembly seats in the state.

The poll results will be out on Mar 3.