April 17, 2024 14:01 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Ram Navami: 'Surya Tilak' illuminates Ram Lalla idol's forehead in Ayodhya Ram Temple | Ram Navami: Pooja performed at Ayodhya's Ram Temple for first time since Ram Lalla's 'Pran Pratistha' | Whole country knows Modi is a champion of corruption: Rahul Gandhi | EC bans Randeep Surjewala from campaigning for 48 hours over derogatory remarks against Hema Malini | LS poll: MK Stalin trains guns at PM Modi in his poll campaigns, calls him 'vasool raja', 'anit-Tamil Nadu'
Four Meghalaya MLAs to resign and join BJP

Four Meghalaya MLAs to resign and join BJP

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 02 Jan 2018, 02:50 pm

Shillong, Jan 2 (IBNS) : Spelling more trouble for the ruling Congress, a party legislator and three other MLAs from other parties  will resign from their respective parties on Tuesday and join the BJP and strengthen the saffron party ahead of the state Assembly elections, reports said.

"We will be resigning as members of the Meghalaya assembly on Tuesday and thereafter join the BJP at a public meeting in Golf Links,"  Alexander Hek, a Congress legislator, has been quoted by the media as saying.

They are supposed to take part in a public rally in Golf Links.

The other legislators, who will join the BJP are : , Sanbor Shullai from the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and two Independents, Justine Dkhar and Robinus Syngkon.

According to reports, the rally will be attended by Union Tourism Minister K.J. Alphons, who is also the party’s Meghalaya election in-charge.

Assam minister and North East Democratic Alliance convener Himanta Biswa Sarma, and others will also be a part of this rally.

The development comes days after five Congress legislators, including former deputy chief minister Rowell Lyngdoh, resigned from the assembly and announced that they would join the National People's Party (NPP), an ally of the BJP in the NDA, on January 4.

Hek is a former BJP-turned Congress legislator, who was the health and family welfare minister in the Mukul Sangma cabinet before being sacked last year.

BJP state president Shibun Lyngdoh said all the four legislators decided to join the BJP after observing the overall performance of the BJP-led NDA government at the national level.

Former deputy speaker Sanbor Shullai had been sacked as the NCP’s Meghalaya president.

BJP state president Shibun Lyngdoh claimed that all the four legislators decided to join the BJP after observing the overall performance of the BJP-led NDA government at the national level. "Who doesn't want to be part of the growing and happy family? And there are more surprises in the days to come when more legislators will be joining us," Lyngdoh said.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.