May 23, 2024 20:24 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Over 300 Indians, who were scammed into working as 'cyber slaves' in Cambodia, returns | Massive explosion at a factory in Thane, 20 evacuated | Mamata govt promoting Muslim League's agenda: BJP president JP Nadda after Calcutta HC's 'OBC quota' verdict | US opposes unilateral recognition of Palestine, says 'state should be achieved via talks' | Pune car accident: Grandfather of 17-year-old accused has underworld connections, paid Chhota Rajan to kill Shiv Sena corporator, chargesheeted
Arunachal Pradesh governor institutes awards for excellence in education

Arunachal Pradesh governor institutes awards for excellence in education

| | 07 Mar 2017, 07:07 pm
Guwahati, Mar 7 (IBNS): Arunachal Pradesh governor P.B. Acharya has instituted Awards in the names of eminent personalities for outstanding students of fourteen Government Colleges of the State every year.

Three best students in the academic, sports and performing arts in each college will be given the awards.

These awards are one of the many initiatives taken up by Governor Acharya.

The Governor said these awards will encourage the students towards academic excellence, sports and performing arts and at the same time, it will also remind of them of the eminent personalities, who have rendered their valuable services in the State and country.

The awards will be in the memory of Rajendra Prasad, Lal Bahardur Shastri, Vishnu Sahaya, Eknath Ranade, Col. Luthra, R.K. Patir, KAA Raja, Daying Ering, Tomo Riba, Talom Rukbo, Lummer Dai, Indira Miri, Jikom Riba, CK Gohain Namchoom, Sobeng Tayeng, Indrajit Namchoom, Wangpha Lowang, Omem Deori, Nokmey Nimati, former Chief Minister Dorjee Khandu, Kuru Hassang, Tadar Tang, Nyari Welly, Kop Temi, Tagi Raja, Matmur Jamoh, Marto Kamdak, Jomin Tayeng, Bini Yanga, Saint Narottam, Muktinath Borthakur and Maj Bob Kathing.

An amount of Rs 1 lakh each will be kept in fixed deposit as corpus fund against each college and interest accrued each year will be used for that award, which will be in kind.

A certificate for each award winner will be given from Raj Bhavan.

The selection of the award winning students and other details will be worked out by the respected college and Raj Bhavan.

In the same line, an amount of Rs 1 lakh will be kept in fixed deposit as corpus fund for the Awards for children of Raj Bhavan staff to encourage academic, sports and performance excellence.

It may be mentioned here that the Governor has instituted awards for outstanding students of Puroik Community and an amount of Rs 2 lakh is kept in fixed deposit as corpus fund for the purpose.

(Reporting by Hemanta Kumar Nath)

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.