June 14, 2021 06:06 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Covid19: Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray meets Sarpanches | US FDA denies India’s Covaxin emergency use approval; seeks additional clinical trial data | Mamata welcomes back Mukul Roy to TMC, shuts door for pre-poll turncoats | Sedition case against filmmaker Aisha Sultana for calling Lakshadweep administrator Praful Patel 'bio-weapon' | Yogi Adityanath meets PM Modi amid speculations over change in UP face

By-Poll results : Ruling parties hold forte in MP,WB,Tripura and Puducherry, ahead in TN

India Blooms News Service | | 22 Nov 2016, 04:05 pm
New Delhi, Nov 22 (IBNS) : Ruling parties consolidated their position in Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Tripura and Puducherry as results for the November 19 by-elections started trickling out on Tuesday, leaving unclear a definite reaction of the people to Prime Minister Narendra Modi's demonetisation drive.

While counting for by-elections in 4 Lok Sabha constituencies and 10 assembly seats across 6 states is still underway, the BJP has already won the Shahdol Lok Sabha and the Nepanagar Assembly  by-polls in Madhya Pradesh, the Congress in Puducherry Assembly by-election, the Trinamool Congress one Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal and the CPI(M) both Assembly seats at stake in Tripura.

In Tamil Nadu, the ruling AIADMK is leading.

According to reports  BJP’s Gyan Singh won Lok Sabha seat from Shahdol in Madhya Pradesh, while  Manju Dadu defeated his nearest rival by 4,600 votes to win the Nepanagar Assembly seat.

In  West Bengal Trinamool Congress candidate  Dibyendu Adhikari was declared elected from Tamluk Lok Sabha seat defeating his nearest rival CPM’s Mandira Panda by 4.97 lakh votes

In Puducherry , Chief minister V Narayanasamy of the Congress won the  Nellithope assembly bypoll.

Tripura's Barjala (SC) Assembly  constituency was won by Jhumu Sarkar of the CPI-M, who beat his nearest BJP opponent Shistamohan Das by a margin of 3,374-votes.

The state's Khowai constituency also  went to CPI(M) with the party's candidate Biswajit Datta winning over the nearest rival, TMC candidate Manoj Das by a margin of 16,047 votes.

In Tamil Nadu, the ruling AIADMK is leading.