January 19, 2022 15:25 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Lawyer Amit Palekar AAP Goa CM candidate, announces Kejriwal | Akhilesh Yadav to contest UP Assembly polls: Sources | Akhilesh Yadav's sister-in-law Aparna Yadav joins BJP ahead of UP Assembly polls | India's daily COVID-19 positivity rate touches 15.13 pct | Air India curtails flight operations to US owing to deployment of 5G communications
By-elections 2016: Puducherry CM wins, CPI-M wins in Tripura

By-elections 2016: Puducherry CM wins, CPI-M wins in Tripura

India Blooms News Service | | 22 Nov 2016, 12:57 pm
Puducherry/Bhopal/Agartala, Nov 22 (IBNS): Puducherry Chief Minister V Narayanasamy won the Nellithoppe bypoll with a margin of 11,144 votes, defeating his nearest rival Om Sakthi Sekhar of AIADMK, according to media reports on Tuesday.

Counting for by-elections in four Lok Sabha constituencies and 10 assembly seats across six states and one union territory began on Tuesday.

In Madhya Pradesh, BJP’s Manju Dadu defeated his nearest rival by 4,600 votes to win the Nepanagar assembly seat, according to media reports.

In Tripura, the CPI(M) won both the assembly seats, the media reported.

Tripura's Barjala (SC) constituency was won by Jhumu Sarkar of the CPI-M, who beat his nearest BJP opponent Shistamohan Das by a margin of 3,374-votes.

The state's Khowai constituency went to CPI(M) too with the party's candidate Biswajit Datta winning over the nearest rival, TMC candidate Manoj Das by a margin of 16,047 votes.