May 21, 2022 07:45 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Parts of Delhi, Gurgaon receive heavy rains today | Textile firm BSL Ltd records Rs 11.48 cr PAT in FY22 | Road rage case: Navjot Singh Sidhu surrenders in Patiala court | Grounded for 3 years, Jet Airways to resume commercial flight operations | Indrani Mukerjea, accused of murdering daughter, leaves jail after 6.5 years

Government renames Calcutta, Bombay and Madras High Courts

India Blooms News Service | | 06 Jul 2016, 11:50 am
New Delhi, Jul 6 (IBNS) : Shedding the last vestige of the British Raj, the Union Cabinet has decided to rename three of the oldest high courts in India in keeping with the rechristened names of their respective cities, reports said.
According to the Cabinet decision taken on Tuesday, the Bombay, Calcutta and Madras high courts will henceforth be known by the Indian names of  Mumbai, Kolkata and Chennai respectively.
The Calcutta High Court was established in 1861 while the Madras High Court and Bombay High Court were established in 1862 in the presidency cities of the British Raj.  The three High Courts are considered among the oldest in the world.