April 20, 2024 20:08 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Mamata Banerjee on DD News' new logo colour: 'Shocked at the sudden saffronisation' | Love jihad is spreading: Karnataka Congress corporator, whose daughter was killed, contradicts Siddaramaiah's claims | Karnataka Congress corporator's daughter killed; CM Siddaramaiah cites 'personal reasons' | Elon Musk postpones upcoming visit to India: Reports | 'Had mangoes only three thrice, sweets 6 times in jail': Arvind Kejriwal counters ED claims in court
Assam: 95 lakh voters to decide fates of 539 candidates in first phase of polling tomorrow

Assam: 95 lakh voters to decide fates of 539 candidates in first phase of polling tomorrow

India Blooms News Service | | 03 Apr 2016, 07:27 pm
Guwahati, Apr 3 (IBNS): A total of 95,11,732 voters of 65 assembly constituencies of Assam will decide to fates of 539 candidates in the first phase of polling in the state to be held on Apr 4.

On Sunday, a total of 55912 polling officials, including 12190 presiding officials, left to the polling stations of the constituencies.

The Election Commission had identified 1992 polling stations as hyper sensitive, 3739 as sensitive and 1241 as critical polling stations for the first phase poll.

The Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Assam Vijayendra said that, to hold peaceful election the EC had deployed 535 security forces companies, 1412 sector officers, 202 zonal officers, 736 micro observers in the first phase poll.

“The VVPAT will be introduced first time in 232 polling stations of Silchar LAC, 200 polling stations of Tezpur LAC and 191 polling stations of Jorhat LAC,” the CEO of Assam said.

“As per instructions of EC, there have special arrangement in 78 polling stations, where to be manned by all women polling officials and 134 polling stations made as model polling stations,” Vijayendra said.

Voters will exercise their franchise to decide fate of several high-profile candidates on Apr 4 including Assam CM Tarun Gogoi (Titabor), BJP’s Chief Ministerial candidate Sarbananda Sonowal (Majuli), AGP president Atul Bora (Bokakhat), Brindabon Goswami (Tezpur), Pradip Hazarika (Amguri), Congress candidate and Assam minister Gautam Roy (Katlichera), Sarat Borkotoky (Sonari).

On the other hand, a total of Rs 9,92,09,575 were seized entire the state till Sunday.

The CEO of Assam also said that, 7,85,633 litre liquor, 166 nos illegal arms, 538 illegal ammunition seized in the state so far.

(Reporting by Hemanta Kumar Nath)

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.