June 21, 2024 13:58 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Renukaswamy murder: Darshan Thoogudeepa borrowed Rs. 40 lakh from friend, paid other accused to destroy evidence, say cops | Liquor policy case: Delhi HC stays Arvind Kejriwal's bail till ED plea hearing | Narendra Modi leads nation in observing 10th International Day of Yoga, participates in main event in Srinagar | Pune woman hangs from building edge holding a man's hand just for an Instagram reel. Read here | BJP's Bhartruhari Mahtab appointed Pro Tem Speaker, Congress calls it 'first mistake'
Google brings major privacy update to Maps, it will no longer save users' locations on its servers
Google Maps
Photo Courtesy: Representational image by Brett Jordan on Pexels

Google brings major privacy update to Maps, it will no longer save users' locations on its servers

| @indiablooms | 06 Jun 2024, 03:07 pm

California/IBNS: Sundar Pichai-led Google is rolling out important privacy updates to the Maps app as the American tech giant is altering the way it handles users’ location data.

Currently, Google Maps tracks users' real time location and stores it on Google's servers unless a user manually turns that feature off.

From now on, Google will no longer store the location history on its server and will save the data on users' devices only.

The California-headquartered tech major also renamed the location history feature to Timeline, which includes information like places a user visited, restaurants the user has eaten at and more.

This feature is announced to enhance user privacy and data security.

As per reports, Google claims the cloud services are safe but storing this data on users’ devices gives them more control, and this feature is available for Android and iOS users.

To further protect users' data, the tech company offers end-to-end encrypted cloud backups for Timeline in Maps, which ensures that only a user can access this backup, adding an extra layer of security.

According to a report by 9to5Google, Google will send out emails to users once the feature is available for them.

“If you don’t update your settings by the deadline in the emails and notifications you receive, you may lose some or all of your Timeline data, like your visits and routes,” the email read.

Users need to make sure to update their settings promptly to avoid losing any Timeline data, as per reports.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.