May 12, 2021 13:38 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
India records highest single-day Covid-19 toll with 4,205 deaths | Covaxin supplied to 18 states directly since May 1: Bharat Biotech | Nearly 90 pct of India witnessing high Covid positivity rate: Centre | PM Modi won't travel to UK for G-7 Summit in June | Cloud burst damages shops, houses in Uttarakhand's Devprayag
Apeejay Kolkata Literary Festival to commence from January 18

Apeejay Kolkata Literary Festival to commence from January 18

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 14 Dec 2018, 09:18 am

Kolkata, Dec 14 (IBNS): The 10th edition of the Apeejay Kolkata Literary Festival is set to take place from January 18 to 20, 2019.

The new logo was introduced, the venue and the list of speakers for the festival were announced at the recently organised curtain raiser for AKLF 2019.
Maina Bhagat, Director of Apeejay Kolkata Literary Festival said, "The AKLF stems from the philosophy that the building of a bookstore is not about building a high rise, it’s about reviving a culture."
"The AKLF Festival looks at making literature an enriching proposition and it also helps build brand, India curating around it, experiences in food & drinks and retail festivities as well. The festival is also associated with other literary festival like the Edinburgh Book Festival, The Henry Literary Festival and the Jaipur Literary Festival," said Bhagat.
Director of Apeejay Kolkata Literary Festival, Anjum Katyal said, "The AKLF is an amazing platform for book lovers to celebrate their love for culture. This year we will witness a marathon of the brightest literary minds from all across the world."
This year, AKLF is organizing a special month-long event called ‘Let’s Celebrate Park Street Campaign’ involving various cafes and restaurants like Oly Pub, India’s Hobby Centre, etc.
The Apeejay Kolkata Literary Festival has instituted and supported various prizes namely, The Oxford Book Store Book Cover Prize, The Shakti Bhatt Prize, The Tagore Zone’s Prize, etc.
The festival will be held in Park Mansion, Allen Park, Max Mueller Bhavan, Celica House and Oxford Bookstore. 
The list of speakers for AKLF 2019 includes Ashwin Sanghi, Durjoy Dutta, Farooq Abdullah, Syeda Hamid, Shashi Tharoor, Shobhaa De, Devdutt Pattanaik, Upamanyu Chatterjee, Naseeruddin Shah, Ravish Kumar and Arundhati Ghosh.
(Reporting by Meghna Dunbar)