May 30, 2023 03:58 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
US reaches debt ceiling deal amid a looming financial crisis | Turkey election: Erdogan declares victory in runoff voting | PM Modi unveils commemorative stamp and Rs 75 coin to mark the inauguration of new Parliament building | 'Rahul Gandhi can get ordinary passport for 3 years and not 10': Delhi court | Abhishek Banerjee's mass outreach programme faces violent protest by Kurmi community in Bengal's Salboni
International artists comment on contemporary world at art exhibition in Kolkata

International artists comment on contemporary world at art exhibition in Kolkata

India Blooms News Service | | 17 Mar 2017, 05:19 pm
Kolkata, Mar 17 (IBNS): Art lovers of Kolkata are in for a treat with Chander Haat presenting a multi-disciplinary art exhibition titled 'Life and Time: The Changing Landscape', with participation from artists around the world.

The exhibition will be held at the Academy of Fine Arts from March 22 to 28, 2017. 

The multi-disciplinary art exhibition is curated by renowned artist activist Probir Gupta. 

The exhibition is a commentary on life and the changes time has wrought on the socio-political-economic and environmental conditions, and in the process how it has eroded the system of values, ethics, concerns and honest endeavour.

There is a crisis, yet one must not lose faith in humanity, believe the organisers.

Prominent art practitioners from India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, the UK, Denmark, France and Russia are taking part in this exhibition, and their thoughts find reflection in the mixed media works.

Participating artists include Anjan Das, Ayan Saha,  Bhabatosh Sutar, Dhiman Sutar, Mallika Das Sutar, N. Pushpamala, Nirmal Malick, Probir Gupta, Pradip Das, Pintu Sikder, Raju Sarkar, Sujit Das, Smita Das, Shukla Sawant, Swastik Pal and  Tarun Dey from India; Bandu Manamperi  from Sri Lanka; Dhali Al Mamoon  and Imran Hossain Piplu from Bangladesh; Kirstine Skov Hansen from Denmark; Paul Holmes from UK; Sara Acremann from France; and Valentina Sekisova from Russia.