January 21, 2022 16:23 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Do you see anyone else's face? Priyanka Gandhi Vadra on Congress CM candidate in UP | Destruction, renovation of Somnath a message: PM Modi | Channi will lose election: Arvind Kejriwal | Delhi govt wants lifting of weekend curfew amid drop in COVID-19 cases | Merged, not extinguished: Govt on Amar Jawan Jyoti row
WHO classifies new COVID strain as 'variant of concern', names it 'Omicron' WHO | New COVID variant
Image credit: Unsplash

WHO classifies new COVID strain as 'variant of concern', names it 'Omicron'

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 27 Nov 2021, 08:58 am

Geneva/IBNS: The World Health Organisation (WHO) has declared the recently-detected B.1.1.529 strain of COVID-19 as a variant of concern and named it as Omicron.

The variant was first detected in southern Africa, which has led to a surge in infections in South Africa and other countries in the southern part of the continent.

"Based on the evidence presented indicative of a detrimental change in Covid-19 epidemiology... the WHO has designated B.1.1.529 as a variant of concern (VOC), named Omicron," the UN health agency said in a statement on Friday.

This puts Omicron into the most-troubling category of COVID-19 variants besides the globally-dominant Delta.

Belgium on Friday detected its first case of the new variant of COVID-19, which also marks the first infection in Europe.

"We have a case that is now confirmed of this variant,"  Belgian Health Minister Frank Vandenbroucke had said during a media conference.

Meanwhile, the French government announced on Friday to immediately suspend flights coming from the southern parts of Africa following the detection of a new Covid-19 variant in South Africa.

In a statement published Friday by the prime minister's office, travellers from South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia and Eswatini, will not be able to enter French territory, regardless of their vaccination status.

The WHO said it could take several weeks to complete studies of Omicron to understand if there are any changes in transmissibility, severity or implications for Covid vaccines, tests and treatments.