January 31, 2023 15:50 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Hockey Men's World Cup 2023: India beat Japan 8-0 in classification match | Amid row, Kerala Congress screens controversial BBC documentary on PM Modi in Thiruvananthapuram | Republic Day Parade to showcase India’s indigenous military prowess, cultural diversity | Mulayam Singh Yadav, Zakir Hussain conferred Padma Vibhushan award | Dilip Mahalanabis, who pioneered ORS use, to be awarded Padma Vibhushan
AU Small Finance Bank appoints Ex RBI Depty Guv H. R. Khan as non-exec independent director AU Small Finance Bank

AU Small Finance Bank appoints Ex RBI Depty Guv H. R. Khan as non-exec independent director

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 28 Dec 2021, 09:37 pm

Kolkata/IBNS: AU Small Finance Bank Tuesday announced the appointment of Harun Rashid Khan as non-executive independent director (Additional Director) on its board, for a period of three years, effective December 28, 2021, subject to the approval of shareholders.

Harun Rashid Khan has over four decades experience in Banking & Finance, Payment and Settlement systems, Economics and Financial Markets.

"This appointment is part of the Bank’s continuous effort to expand and strengthen its Board by inducting professionals with diversified experience across banking and finance," the bank said in a statement.

Sanjay Agarwal, MD & CEO of AU Small Finance Bank, said the Bank would immensely benefit from his vast and diverse experience across the financial services ecosystem as we chart out the Bank’s next phase of growth.

"He will bring a fresh perspective to the deliberations and the Board is looking forward to working with him closely," said Agarwal.

Raj Vikash Verma, Chairman of the Board, AU Small Finance Bank said the veteran banker's joining would governance ecosystem of the bank as continues to expand its balance sheet.

In RBI, Harun Rashid Khan handled diverse areas and spearheaded major projects relating to financial markets, foreign exchange management, external investments, banking regulation and supervision, IT transformation, payment and settlement systems, training and HR initiatives, and financial inclusion.

He had chaired the Committee on the Rural Credit and Micro finance which focused on expansion of banking network through the Information and Communications Technology enabled business correspondents, the Inter Regulatory Corporate Debt Working Group which made several important recommendations for development of the Corporate Debt Market in India and the Working Group on the Regulations for the Foreign Portfolio Investors (FPIs) set up for simplification, liberalization and rationalization of the portfolio flow regulations set up by the SEBI.

He was also the member of the Committees on Digital Payments set up by the Government of India and the RBI.

Khan holds the Master of Arts from Utkal University, Bhubaneswar, Master of Philosophy from Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, Diploma in Business Management from Narsee Monjee Institute of Management Studies, Mumbai and he is a Certified Associate of the Indian Institute of Banking and Finance.

The Board of Directors of AU Small Finance Bank has expanded to nine members of which seven are Independent Directors having expertise in varied fields.

At present, the bank’s Board of Directors comprises of Raj Vikash Verma, Part-time Chairman & Independent Director; Sanjay Agarwal, Managing Director & CEO; Uttam Tibrewal, Executive Director; Krishan Kant Rathi, Independent Director; Jyoti Narang, Independent Director; Prof. M. S. Sriram, Independent Director; Pushpinder Singh, Independent Director; V. G. Kannan, Independent Director.