Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cookie - headers already sent by (output started at /home/indiab/public_html/include/connDB.php:13) in /home/indiab/public_html/SportsDetailsPage/2012/sportsDetails131112a.php on line 3

Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent (output started at /home/indiab/public_html/include/connDB.php:13) in /home/indiab/public_html/SportsDetailsPage/2012/sportsDetails131112a.php on line 3

Warning: mysql_num_rows(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /home/indiab/public_html/SportsDetailsPage/2012/sportsDetails131112a.php on line 25
ATP: Bhupathi-Bopanna beaten in final
Make this your homepage
indian news portal IBNS
indian news portal IBNS
indian news portal IBNS
indian news portal IBNS

ATP: Bhupathi-Bopanna beaten in final

India Blooms News Service

London, Nov 13 (IBNS) The Indian pair of Mahesh Bhupathi and Leander Paes were beaten by the sixth seeds Marcel Granollers and Marc Lopez in the doubles final of the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals title at The O2 here Monday.

Granollers and Lopez became the second Spanish team to win the season-ending championships beating the fifth-seeded Indians 7-5, 3-6, 10-3.

ATP Executive Chairman and President Brad Drewett presented Granollers and Lopez the doubles trophy.

Ashok Vaswani, the Chief Executive of Barclays Retail and Business Banking, also offered the pair his congratulations after they won their third title of the year.

“We finished here winning the title, so it's incredible for us,” said Granollers.

“We try to play as best as we can always. I think we have very good relationship. So, I think, that's one of the key of our success.

"I'd like to congratulate Mahesh and Rohan for their year. They played a great tournament. Good luck next season. Marc is one of my best friends. To win here with him is very special. Thanks to the ATP for a great tournament and to Barclays for supporting our sport."

The only other Spanish duo to win the championship are Juan Gisbert Sr. and Manuel Orantes in 1975 at Stockholm, when they captured the title with the best round robin record.

The pair, who will compete for Spain in next week’s Davis Cup final against the Czech Republic, recorded their 40th match win of the season (40-16 overall) in 90 minutes. They are now 3-4 in tour-level finals this year, having teamed up in February.

Granollers and Lopez, playing one-up and one-back to great effect, took a 2-1 lead in the first set, after Granollers hit three successive forehands at Bopanna, who hit a backhand volley into the net on the deciding point.

However, Lopez was broken in the next game. At 5-5, Bhupathi mis-placed two serves to fall to 0/30.

The 38-year-old Bhupathi made two further backhand volley errors, off Granollers forehands. Serving for the set, Lopez faced sudden death deuce and break point, but Granollers intercepted a backhand volley to clinch the opener in 43 minutes. The Spaniards had won 23 of their 34 service points.

Midway through the second set, at 3-4, the Indians set up two break point chances at 30/40. Lopez centred play on Bhupathi, less flashier and powerful than Bopanna, to recoup one point, but on the deciding point Granollers committed a forehand error. Bopanna then coolly closed out to 30 with the team’s fifth ace of the set, which lasted 35 minutes. Bhupathi and Bopanna had won 76 per cent of their first service points.

Clever inter-play and defence by Granollers and Lopez gave them a 4-0 lead in the Match tie-break, which saw Bhupathi and Bopanna guilty of not putting away their volleys and rushing into their strokes. Having won six of the first seven points, Granollers and Lopez weathered a Bhupathi grounstroke blitz. At 9-3, with Lopez serving, Bhupathi put a forehand volley long. Granollers and Lopez ran to one another in celebration after capturing the biggest title of their careers.

Granollers and Lopez were the first Spanish duo to play at the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals since Sergio Casal and Emilio Sanchez in 1994. Casal-Sanchez finished as runners up in 1988 and 1990.

“It’s always tough playing them,” said Bhupathi. “They're not a conventional doubles team. They make it very, very difficult in more ways than one, no matter who they play. We were expecting that. We fought hard to stay in the match. [We] got ourselves again into a Match tie-break. This time I think we just played a bad tie-break. That sums it up."

Bopanna, who will be getting married in 10 days time, added, “They’re not just serve and volley players, traditional doubles players. They mix a lot. They stay back. They serve and stay back. They cross a lot. They hit different kinds of shots, which it's very tough. You're not sure whether they're going to come in or cross.”

To Post Your Comment On This Article Click Here
Comments Posted on this news:

There are no comments on this News.

Related Sports Video
indian news portal IBNS
Related Sports News
Aus Open: Federer reaches semis
Serena knocked out of Aus Open
Aus Open: Novak reaches fourth round
Apia: Rohan, Aisam reach semis
Tennis ranking: Yuki touches 172

More Sports
Sports Archive >>   

WT20: Netherlands beat England by 45 runs   WT20: Netherlands beat England by 45 runs   Shree Shivchhatrapati Sports Complex   Tampines Rovers   Pune FC   AFC Cup   Thomas Cup India Group C   Thomas Cup draw   52nd State Chess Championship Kolkata   52nd State Chess Championship   Mumbai FC   Mumbai FC Shillong Lajong   India Australia World T20   India beat Australia   Debraj Mohun Bagan Mount Everest   Mohun Bagan fan Mt Everest   Australia India   Australia India World T20   Pakistan   World T20   Pakistan beat Bangladesh   India in trouble   Australia India World T20   Australia win toss   Hockey India   Hockey India FIH rules June 1   Mumbai FC Shillong   Mumbai FC football   South Africa World T20   South Africa win   andidates Chess   Viswanathan Anand Candidates Chess   Hockey India Afghanistan Hockey Federation   Hockey India   New Zealand win   Netherlands   New Zealand beat Netherlands   Gavaskar in IPL   IPL interim chief   Sunil Gavaskar   Kevin Pietersen   CPL Kevin Pietersen   India Bangladesh World T20   India beat Bangladesh   WT20: India beat Bangladesh   WT20: India beat Bangladesh   Pune FC draw   Pune FC bangalore   St Xaviers college win   St Xaviers college  

indian news portal IBNS
IndiaBlooms Plus
indiablooms Video
BJP lashes out at Rahul Gandhi's statement on Imran Masood Bani : Bani is no more , Maya will play the role Cheerleaders dance their way to a spot on NFL squad
Photo Feature
DWIH hosts road show in Science City 2 States:New Poster Nissan launches Datsun Go
DWIH hosts road show in Science City 2 States:New Poster Nissan launches Datsun Go
indian news portal IBNS





indian news portal IBNS
indian news portal IBNS
About Us  |  Writers  |  Advertise with Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service  |  Contact Us  |  Sitemap   |  Send Feedback
Copyright © 2008 Indiablooms.com. All rights reserved.   Copyright / IP Policy   |  Company Info
Increase Page Rank