Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cookie - headers already sent by (output started at /home/indiab/public_html/include/connDB.php:13) in /home/indiab/public_html/SportsDetailsPage/2012/sportsDetails021012f.php on line 3

Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent (output started at /home/indiab/public_html/include/connDB.php:13) in /home/indiab/public_html/SportsDetailsPage/2012/sportsDetails021012f.php on line 3

Warning: mysql_num_rows(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /home/indiab/public_html/SportsDetailsPage/2012/sportsDetails021012f.php on line 25
U-14, 16 Tennis: Vatsal upsets Laplikar
Make this your homepage
indian news portal IBNS
indian news portal IBNS

U-14, 16 Tennis: Vatsal upsets Laplikar

India Blooms News Service

Pune, Oct 2 (IBNS): Six seeded players were shown the door in the All India (Under-14 and 16) Ranking Retail Concepts Championship Series Tennis Tournament 2012, organised by City Blog and Om Dalvi Memorial Trust, at Deccan Gymkhana, on Tuesday.

Vatsal Gandhi of Rajasthan scored the biggest upset of the day accounting for local boy and third seed Neil Laplikar in the boy’s Under-14 section.

Overall the section had three upsets logged during the day with Karnataka’s No.4 Adil Kayanpur and No.8 Arman Bhatiya (Maharashtra) following suit in pre-quarterfinal encounters.

Neil, who had to come through qualifiers, had no answer to Gandhi’s precision and power, and lost 2-9 in a one-sided encounter.

Gandhi had a terrific day, as he later became the only unseeded player in the boy’s Under-16 section to advance to the quarter-finals.

Vatsal beat Tejas Shewde of Goa, who had created the only upset of the day on Monday, 9-6.

The other upsets in the Under-14 section had qualifier Bharat Kumaran thrash Kayanpur 9-2, while S Manish of Andhra Pradesh had an equally easy outing against Arman Bhatiya, winning it 9-3.

Top seed Raghav Jaisinghani of Madhya Pradesh survived a tough test against Maharashtra’s Siddhant Banthia. Jaisinghani won 9-8 (7-2).

However, Banthia made amends for that disappointment later in the day, as he shocked boys Under-16 seventh seed Karan Mehta.

In the girls Under-14 section, Maharashtra’s Vaibhavi Deshmukh shocked fourth seeded Kerala-lass Tanvi Bhatt Hattangadi 9-8 (8-6) in what was the toughest encounter of the day.

Local lad and boys’ Under-16 top seed Aditya Gokhale ended the dream run of lucky loser Sharan Rajani 9-3 to make it to the last eight.

In the girls Under-16 section, Andhra’s Jaidipya Sai sent seventh seed Suprabha Pujari to make it to the quarter-finals.

Maharashtra’s Moksha Thakural joined Sai as an unseeded player to have made it to the last-eight. Tanvi Hattangadi also joined the group, as she won the battle of qualifiers against Ishita Parikh of Maharashtra 9-3.
RESULTS (all pre-Quarterfinals)

Boys; Under-14: 1-Raghav Jaisinghani (MP) bt Sidhant Bantia (Mah) 9-8 (2); 6-Tanmay Thakkar (Mah) bt Aditya Chaloo (Mah) 9-5; Vatsal Gandhi (Raj) bt 3-Neil Lapalikar (Mah) 9-2; 7-Ansuman Gulia (Del) bt Kaivalya Kalamse (Mah) 9-7; 5-Abhimanu Vannemreddy (AP) bt K Sampath 9-1; Kumaran Bharath (NIS) bt 4-Adil Kalyanpur (Kar) 9-2; Manish S (AP) bt 8-Arman Bhatiya (Mah) 9-3; 2-Yash Yadav (MP) bt Cummings Christian (Mah) 9-6.

Girls, Under-14: 1-Sama Sathwika (AP) bt Serah Menezes (Mah) 9-0; 5-Pareen Shivekar (Mah) bt Aaliya Ebrahim (Mah) 9-5; 3-Shivani Ingale (Mah) bt Tahoora Shaikh (AP) 9-0; 8-Sai Y Deepya (AP) bt Richa Chougule (Mah) 9-2; 7-Harsha Sai Challa (AP) bt Dyanda Patil (Mah) 9-1; Vaibhavi Deshmukh (Mah) bt 4-Tanvi Bhat Hattangadi (Ker) 9-8 (6); 6-Moksha Thakural (Mah) bt Mallika Karmarkar (Mah) 9-1; 2-P. Madhumati Meenakshi (TN) bt Humera Shaikh (AP) 9-6.

Boys; Under-16: 1-Aditya Gokhale (Mah) bt Sharan Rajani (Mah) 9-3; Vatsal Gandhi (Raj) bt Tejas Shewde (Goa) 9-6; 3-Yash Yadav (MP) bt Tanmay Thakkar (Mah) 9-5; 5-Rahul Yadav (MP) bt Anshuman Gulia (Del) 9-2; 6-Taha Kapadia (AP) bt Kaivalya Kalamse (Mah) 9-2; 4-Raghav Jaisinghani (MP) bt Prithvi Khanna (Del) 9-4; Siddhant Banthia (Mah) bt 7-Karan Mehta (Mah) 9-4; 2-Jayesh Pungaliya (Mah) bt Sunny Khandare (Mah) 9-1.

Girls, Under-16: 1-Kanishka Chawla (Mah) bt Dnyanda Patil (Mah) 9-1; Moksha Thakural (Mah) bt Madhumita Meenakshi (TN) 9-6; 4-Rajeshree Rathod (Mah) bt Humera Shaikh (AP) 9-4; 6-Srishti Dass (Mah) bt Pragati Solankar (Mah) 9-4; Tanvi Hatangde (Ker) bt Ishita Parikh (Mah) 9-3; 3-Saumya Sathwika (AP) bt Shivani Ingle (Mah) 9-3; Jaidipya Sai (AP) bt 7-Suprabha Pujari 9-7; 2-Sharlee Deshmukh bt Tahoora Sheikh 9-3.

To Post Your Comment On This Article Click Here
Comments Posted on this news:

There are no comments on this News.

indian news portal IBNS

More Sports
Sports Archive >>   

WT20: Netherlands beat England by 45 runs   WT20: Netherlands beat England by 45 runs   Shree Shivchhatrapati Sports Complex   Tampines Rovers   Pune FC   AFC Cup   Thomas Cup India Group C   Thomas Cup draw   52nd State Chess Championship Kolkata   52nd State Chess Championship   Mumbai FC   Mumbai FC Shillong Lajong   India Australia World T20   India beat Australia   Debraj Mohun Bagan Mount Everest   Mohun Bagan fan Mt Everest   Australia India   Australia India World T20   Pakistan   World T20   Pakistan beat Bangladesh   India in trouble   Australia India World T20   Australia win toss   Hockey India   Hockey India FIH rules June 1   Mumbai FC Shillong   Mumbai FC football   South Africa World T20   South Africa win   andidates Chess   Viswanathan Anand Candidates Chess   Hockey India Afghanistan Hockey Federation   Hockey India   New Zealand win   Netherlands   New Zealand beat Netherlands   Gavaskar in IPL   IPL interim chief   Sunil Gavaskar   Kevin Pietersen   CPL Kevin Pietersen   India Bangladesh World T20   India beat Bangladesh   WT20: India beat Bangladesh   WT20: India beat Bangladesh   Pune FC draw   Pune FC bangalore   St Xaviers college win   St Xaviers college  

indian news portal IBNS
IndiaBlooms Plus
indiablooms Video
BJP lashes out at Rahul Gandhi's statement on Imran Masood Bani : Bani is no more , Maya will play the role Cheerleaders dance their way to a spot on NFL squad
Photo Feature
DWIH hosts road show in Science City 2 States:New Poster Nissan launches Datsun Go
DWIH hosts road show in Science City 2 States:New Poster Nissan launches Datsun Go
indian news portal IBNS





indian news portal IBNS
indian news portal IBNS
About Us  |  Writers  |  Advertise with Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service  |  Contact Us  |  Sitemap   |  Send Feedback
Copyright © 2008 Indiablooms.com. All rights reserved.   Copyright / IP Policy   |  Company Info
Increase Page Rank